Who Is Bozo Texino? (Bill Daniel, 2005)

Discussions of specific films and franchises.
karmajuice

Who Is Bozo Texino? (Bill Daniel, 2005)

#1 Post by karmajuice » Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:49 am

I saw Who Is Bozo Texino? for the first time in 2005, shortly after its completion. Daniel was traveling with the film and he screened it where I went to college. I was a freshman or a sophomore. I can't tell you exactly what I thought of the film -- it's been too long -- but the film stayed with me in a way few films do. It became almost apocryphal to me, this film which left such a vivid impression and about which I could remember so few particulars.

My interest in filmmaking was nascent back then and recently I started to wonder what I would think of the film now, my knowledge having grown considerably over the years. After looking online, I discovered that Daniel had put the film on DVD. I watched a few clips that had found their way to youtube. These sealed my interest and I bought the disc.

The film is a documentary about the boxcar graffiti drawn by hobos and railroad workers. They develop drawings which act like signatures, broadcast across the country by train. The film takes its title from the most infamous boxcar artist, Bozo Texino, who wrote the name "Bozo Texino" under a sketch of a head wearing a cowboy hat. Daniel spent 16 years making the film, hopping freight trains, befriending hobos, and gradually accumulating footage while he sought out the anonymous author of the Bozo Texino insignia.